E_Thermal Sciences and Engineering

Concentration Area

Thermal Sciences and Engineering

 

Objective

The growing interest for energy, especially over the last century, has justified many researches and formation of human resources in its use, transfer and conversion from one form to another.

The Thermal Sciences and Engineering area, gathering the knowledge of thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer and its applications, has been dedicated  to the interpretation of the physical phenomena involved with the proposition of mathematical models that describe them and to the development of methods that allow the solution of fundamental and applied problems, both in academical and industrial fields.

Research Lines

  • Exergetic analysis
  • Thermal analysis of edifications
  • Characterization of petroleum reservoir rocks
  • Combustion
  • Air conditioning
  • Thermal control of satellites
  • Boiling and condensation
  • Solar energy
  • Outflow and mixtures thermodynamics
  • Fluid outflow in porous media
  • Generation and cogeneration of energy
  • Instrumentation for thermal analysis of edifications
  • Lubrification
  • Fluid mechanics and computational heat transference
  • Discrete models of fluid outflow (Lattice-Gas)
  • Radiation
  • Refrigeration
  • Rheology
  • Petroleum reservoirs simulation
  • Heat tubes
  • Turbulence

Advisors (Teaching Staff)

Alexandre Kupka da Silva, Ph.D. ()
a.kupka@ufsc.br

Álvaro Toubes Prata, Ph.D. (1985, Univ. Minnesota – EUA)
prata@polo.ufsc.br

Amir Antônio Martins Oliveira Jr., Ph.D. (1998, Univ. Michigan – EUA)
amir.oliveira@ufsc.br

César José Deschamps, Ph.D. (1994, Univ. Manchester – Inglaterra)
deschamps@polo.ufsc.br

Cláudio Melo, Ph.D. (1985, Cranfield Inst. of Technology – Inglaterra)
melo@polo.ufsc.br

Clovis Raimundo Maliska, Ph.D. (1981, Univ. Waterloo – Canadá)
clovis.maliska@ufsc.br

Edson Bazzo, Dr.Eng. (1996, UFSC – Brasil)
e.bazzo@ufsc.br

Emilio Ernesto Paladino, Dr.Eng. (2005, UFSC – Brasil)
paladino@sinmec.ufsc.br

Fernando Henrique Milanese, Dr.Eng. ()
fernando.milanese@ufsc.br

Jader Riso Barbosa Junior, Dr. (2001, Imperial College – Inglaterra)
jrb@polo.ufsc.br

Juan Pablo de Lima Costa Salazar, Ph.D. (2010 – Univ.Cornell – EUA)
juan.salazar@ufsc.br

Júlio César Passos, Dr. (1989, Univ. Paris VI – França)
julio.passos@ufsc.br

Márcia Barbosa Henriques Mantelli, Ph.D. (1995, Univ. Waterloo – Canadá)
marcia.mantelli@ufsc.br

Paulo César Philippi, Dr. (1980, Univ. de Provence – França)
philippi@lmpt.ufsc.br

Rogério Gomes de Oliveira, Dr. (2004, UNICAMP – Brasil)
rogerio.oliveira@ararangua.ufsc.br

Saulo Güths, Dr. (1994, Univ. D’Artois – França)
saulo.g@ufsc.br

Sérgio Colle, D.Sc. (1976, COPPE-UFRJ – Brasil)
sergio.colle@ufsc.br

Vicente de Paulo Nicolau, Dr. (1994, INSA-Lyon – França)
vicente@lmpt.ufsc.br

 

Laboratories

LabCET – Laboratório de Combustão e Engenharia de Sistemas Térmicos
Supervisor: Prof. Amir Antonio Martins Oliveira Jr.
E.mail:  amir.oliveira@ufsc.br
Tel: +55 xx 48 – 3721-9390
Fax: +55 xx 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.cet.ufsc.br

LABSOLAR/NTCS – Laboratório de Energia Solar e Núcleo de Controle Térmico de Satélites
Supervisor: Prof. Sergio Colle
E.mail:  sergio.colle@ufsc.br
Tel: +55 xx 48 3721-9812
Fax: +55 xx 48 3721 7615
http://www.labsolar.ufsc.br/

LabTERMO- Laboratório de Ciências Térmicas
Supervisor: Prof. Vicente de Paulo Nicolau
E.mail:  vicente@lmpt.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 xx 48 – 3721-9397 e 234-5166
Fax: +55 xx 48 3234-1519
http://www.emc.ufsc.br/labtermo/

LMPT – Laboratório de Meios Porosos e Propriedades Termofísicas
Supervisor: Prof. José A. Bellini da Cunha Neto
E.mail:  bellini@lmpt.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 xx 48 – 3721-7709
Fax: +55 xx 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.lmpt.ufsc.br

POLO
Supervisor: Prof. Cláudio Melo
E.Mail:  melo@polo.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 xx 48 – 3721 -9397
Fax: +55 xx 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.polo.ufsc.br/

SINMEC – Laboratório de Simulação Numérica em Mecânica dos Fluidos e Transferência de Calor
Supervisor: Prof.Clovis Raimundo Maliska
E.mail:  maliska@sinmec.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 xx 48 – 3721-9936 e 3721-9562
Fax: +55 xx 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.sinmec.ufsc.br