E_Thermal Sciences and Engineering

Thermal Sciences and Engineering

Objective

The growing interest in energy, especially over the last century, has justified many researches and the qualification of human resources in energy use, transfer and conversion from one form to another.

The Thermal Sciences and Engineering area, gathering the knowledge of thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer and its applications, has been dedicated  to the interpretation of the physical phenomena involved, the proposition of mathematical models that describe them, and the development of methods that allow the solution of fundamental and applied problems, both in the industrial and academic sectors.

Lines of Research

  • Exergetic analysis
  • Thermal analysis of buildings
  • Characterization of petroleum reservoir rocks
  • Combustion
  • Air conditioning
  • Satellite thermal control
  • Boiling and condensation
  • Solar energy
  • Flow and mixture thermodynamics
  • Fluid flow in porous media
  • Energy Generation and cogeneration
  • Instrumentation for thermal analysis of buildings
  • Lubrification
  • Fluid mechanics and computational heat transfer
  • Discrete models of fluid outflow (Lattice-Gas)
  • Radiation
  • Cooling
  • Rheology
  • Petroleum reservoir simulation
  • Heat tubes
  • Turbulence

Faculty

Alexandre Kupka da Silva, Ph.D. (2005, Duke University- USA)
a.kupka@ufsc.br

Álvaro Toubes Prata, Ph.D. (1985, Univ. Minnesota – USA)
prata@polo.ufsc.br

Amir Antônio Martins Oliveira Jr., Ph.D. (1998, Univ. Michigan – USA)
amir.oliveira@ufsc.br

César José Deschamps, Ph.D. (1994, Univ. Manchester – England)
deschamps@polo.ufsc.br

Cláudio Melo, Ph.D. (1985, Cranfield Inst. of Technology – England)
melo@polo.ufsc.br

Clovis Raimundo Maliska, Ph.D. (1981, Univ. Waterloo – Canada)
clovis.maliska@ufsc.br

Christian Johann Losso Hermes, Dr.Eng.  (2006, UFSC – Brazil)
c.hermes@ufsc.br

Edson Bazzo, Dr.Eng. (1996, UFSC – Brazil)
e.bazzo@ufsc.br

Emilio Ernesto Paladino, Dr.Eng. (2005, UFSC – Brazil)
paladino@sinmec.ufsc.br

Fernando Henrique Milanese, Dr.Eng. (2003, UFSC – Brazil)
fernando.milanese@ufsc.br

Jader Riso Barbosa Junior, Dr. (2001, Imperial College – England)
jrb@polo.ufsc.br

Juan Pablo de Lima Costa Salazar, Ph.D. (2010 – Univ.Cornell – USA)
juan.salazar@ufsc.br

Júlio César Passos, Dr. (1989, Univ. Paris VI – France)
julio.passos@ufsc.br

Márcia Barbosa Henriques Mantelli, Ph.D. (1995, Univ. Waterloo – Canada)
marcia.mantelli@ufsc.br

Paulo César Philippi, Dr. (1980, Univ. de Provence – France)
philippi@lmpt.ufsc.br

Rogério Gomes de Oliveira, Dr. (2004, UNICAMP – Brazil)
rogerio.oliveira@ararangua.ufsc.br

Saulo Güths, Dr. (1994, Univ. D’Artois – France)
saulo.g@ufsc.br

Sérgio Colle, D.Sc. (1976, COPPE-UFRJ – Brazil)
sergio.colle@ufsc.br

Vicente de Paulo Nicolau, Dr. (1994, INSA-Lyon – France)
vicente.nicolau@ufsc.br

Laboratories

LabCET – Laboratory of Combustion and Thermal System Engineering
Supervisor: Prof. Amir Antonio Martins Oliveira Jr.
E-mail:  amir.oliveira@ufsc.br
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9390
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.labcet.ufsc.br

LABSOLAR/NTCS – Laboratory of Solar Energy and Center for Satellite Thermal Control
Supervisor: Prof. Sergio Colle
E-mail:  sergio.colle@ufsc.br
Tel: +55 48 3721-9812
Fax: +55 48 3721 7615
http://www.labsolar.ufsc.br/

LabTERMO- Laboratory of Thermal Sciences
Supervisor: Prof. Vicente de Paulo Nicolau
E-mail:  vicente.nicolau@ufsc.br
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9397 e 234-5166
Fax: +55 48 3234-1519
http://www.emc.ufsc.br/labtermo/

LMPT – Laboratory of Porous Media and Thermophysical Proprieties
Supervisor: Prof. José A. Bellini da Cunha Neto
E-mail:  bellini@lmpt.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-7709
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.lmpt.ufsc.br

POLO – Laboratory for Emerging Technologies in Cooling and Thermophysics
Supervisor: Prof. Cláudio Melo
E-mail:  melo@polo.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 48 – 3721 -9397
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.polo.ufsc.br/

SINMEC – Laboratory of Numerical Simulation in Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer
Supervisor: Prof.Clovis Raimundo Maliska
E-mail:  maliska@sinmec.ufsc.br
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9936 e 3721-9562
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
http://www.sinmec.ufsc.br