E_Fabrication

Fabrication

Objective

The production of goods, as one of the pillars of contemporary development, has been attracting the attention of researchers and professionals from different areas, because of its undeniable multidisciplinary characteristics.

The skills of mechanical engineers, electronics engineers, electricians and computer professionals are required in the integration of the manufacturing processes and the adequacy of the productive structure for its purposes, optimizing time and resources, and using the latest fabrication technologies.

The research and work done in this area spread out over different domains such as welding processes, production management, machining technology, forming, fabrication of injected components, hardware development, processes automation, among many others.

Lines of Research

  • Weldability of stainless and heat-resistant steels
  • Development of welding equipment
  • High temperature brazing
  • Quality Engineering
  • Precision Machining
  • Analysis of machined surfaces
  • Machine automation
  • CNC- Triggering of machines and instruments
  • Dynamic testing of machines and instruments
  • Design and manufacture of plastic components
  • Rapid Prototyping
  • Tool Management and machining databases
  • Computer-aided process planning
  • Manufacturing
  • Additive Manufacturing (3D printing)
  • Computational modeling of products
  • Design for manufacturing
  • Machining processes

Faculty

Carlos Henrique Ahrens, Dr.Eng. (1994, UFSC – Brazil)
chahrens@gmail.com

Fernando Antônio Forcellini, Dr.Eng. (1994, UFSC – Brazil)
fernando.forcellini@ufsc.br

Gean Vitor Salmoria, Dr. (2000, INPT – France)
gean.salmoria@ufsc.br

Guilherme Mariz de Oliveira Barra, Dr. Eng. (2001, UFRJ – Brazil)
g.barra@ufsc.br

Jair Carlos Dutra, Dr.Eng. (1989, UFSC – Brazil)
j.dutra@ufsc.br

João Carlos Espíndola Ferreira, Ph.D. (1991, Univ. Manchester – England)
j.c.ferreira@ufsc.br

Márcio Celso Fredel, Dr. Ing.
m.fredel@ufsc.br

Rolf Bertrand Schroeter, Dr.Eng. (1997, UFSC – Brazil)
rolf.schroeter@ufsc.br

Walter Lindolfo Weingaertner, Dr.Ing.(1983, Univ. Aachen- Germany)
w.l.weingaertner@ufsc.br

Laboratories

NIMMA – INNOVATION CORN IN MOLDING AND ADDITIVE MANUFACTURING
Coordinator:  Prof. Carlos Henrique Ahrens
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9387 Extension: 202 or 223
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
E-mail: chahrens@gmail.com
http://emc.ufsc.br/portal/laboratorios/nimma/

GRUCON – Research and Training Center on Numerical Control and Industrial Automation
Supervisor: Prof. João Carlos Espindola Ferreira
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9387 Extension: 202 or 223
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
E-Mail: j.c.ferreira@ufsc.br
http://www.grucon.ufsc.br

LabCONF- Laboratory of Mechanical Forming
Supervisor: Prof. Carlos Augusto Silva de Oliveira
Tel: +55 48 – 234-2783 and 3721-9471
Fax: +55 48 – 234-6516
E-mail:  carlosa@emc.ufsc.br
http://www.emc.ufsc.br/labconf/

LABSOLDA – Institute of Welding and Mechatronics
Supervisor: Prof. Jair Carlos Dutra
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9471 and 234-2783
Fax: +55 48 – 234-6516
E-mail:  labsolda@emc.ufsc.br
http://www.labsolda.ufsc.br/

LHW – Laboratory of Hardware
Supervisor: Prof. Carlos A. Martin
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9398
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
E-mail:  martin@emc.ufsc.br
http://www.grucon.ufsc.br/lhw/

LMP – Laboratory of Precision Mechanics
Supervisors:
Prof. Rolf Bertrand Schroeter
Prof. Walter Lindolfo Weingaertner
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9395 and 234-5277
Fax: +55 48 – 3721-7615
E-mail:  lmp@lmp.ufsc.br
http://www.lmp.ufsc.br/

USICON – Laboratório of Machining and Numerical Control
Supervisor: Eng. João Bento Rovaris
Tel: +55 48 – 3721-9387 | Extension: 242 or 217
Fax: +55 48 – 3234-1519
E-mail:  joao.rovaris@ufsc.br
http://emc.ufsc.br/portal/laboratorios/usicon/